The Importance of Pet Insurance- Yes, Seriously


My family is big on dogs. Seriously. Not one of us has a cat. When we go to work, there are three dogs with us all day, every day. They all sit around my grandfather’s desk and he’ll lazily toss them treats while he’s on the phone. They get to lick our plates after we’re finished our steak. Sometimes in the summer, they’ll get doggie ice cream. They wear Toronto Maple Leafs sweaters and AC/DC t-shirts. They even have cakes for their birthdays. I wish I was kidding. It’s mostly an excuse to eat cake, but still. My relatives are THOSE people.

This is my mom’s bulldog, Gertie.

Image

Most people I’ve talked to don’t understand getting pet insurance. Sure, they need to go to the vet, but for Gertie, it would be about $750 a year in premiums. Who spends $750 a year on medical costs for their animals?

Well, with Gertie, that would have been a great deal.

My mom has had her for a year. In that time, she’s had a couple ear infections, her folds around her face have been infected, she needs special food because of her digestive system; all of the issues are related to her breed. It has been pretty interesting to see how many problems one dog can have. All the costs associated with that still would’ve been less than insurance premiums. Then she had an accident a couple months ago.

See, the other two dogs that we have are pretty small compared to Gertie, so she thinks she’s small too. So when the other two jumped off my back porch, she followed suit. She ripped a muscle in her back leg due to the impact, and she needed surgery to fix it. Surgery to the tune of over $2000. Then add in the painkillers, other medicine, follow-up appointments, and even us putting a fence on the porch this summer so she won’t do it again, and that is one expensive dog.

Obviously they don’t regret it because they love her, but you can bet my mom is kicking herself for not getting insurance for her.

So, a word to the wise; when you get an animal, treat it like a car, and insure it’s health! Research the breed and make sure you know what health problems they’re susceptible to, because let’s face it; many of us are suckers for our animals, and you don’t want to go into debt/deplete your emergency fund because Fluffy broke a leg.

I know it seems frivolous, but it could save you a huge chunk of cash.

5 responses to “The Importance of Pet Insurance- Yes, Seriously

  1. Yeah, I can see where you would need it if you have a dog like Gertie. lol! Such a sweet face. My cat has had stuff in the past that did cost a lot of money, but thankfully few and far between. In that case it’s hard to justify, but I think about that as he gets older.

  2. Yikes!

    My family always had animals but they were always mutts and adopted. (Preferential for us because pure breeds tend to have many issues.) The first dog I remember us having my dad found on wandering on the street and he never had any problems until he was old and had to be put down because of a brain tumor. The current dog is the same—never had any real medical problems and they have had him for over ten years.

    That being said I would love to have a dog! I love dogs. But right now I have my two cats because my guy is super allergic to most things—including cats but he has quite a bit of tolerance to them. To be fair though, my one cat acts like a dog—he will eat pretty much anything and is willing to lick things clean for you. Oh and he plays fetch, something my dogs growing up never did. 😉

    • I’ve definitely found that with purebreds too. Our mixed breeds never had problems until they got quite a bit older. I’m going to have to deal with that though, because my heart is set on a bulldog and my boyfriend is adamant that when we’re living together down the road, he wants a rottweiler because he had one as a kid. The price people will pay for what they want, eh?

  3. Awww what a cute dog! We have thought about it and will probably get it for our French Bulldog, just because they are so unhealthy.

Leave a Reply

