My Life is Nuts


Wow, I’ve been absent for quite a bit. I’ve been so busy with schoolwork and exams that I’ve been feeling really run-down. Last week I had two exams and a business plan due. I did my business plan based on this blog and what I could build off of it, which is hilarious considering I neglected the blog and my finances to write the paper. THEN my computer didn’t save it properly, so I ended up having an internal meltdown at work and taking Wednesday off as a vacation day to go home and write it all over again. Needless to say the second attempt wasn’t as good as the first because I was rushed, but I got it done and handed in on time, and that’s all I care about. The teacher is an easy marker anyway, and I guarantee she hasn’t seen anything like my planning before.

This weekend was insane. I used to do nothing but do homework and go to Jay’s. Friday I ended up going to my friend’s house and having a few drinks, Saturday I went north to M’s house for the night, then yesterday I came home, dealt with Jay crying about how he wants me back (I didn’t give in, by the way), then went to see The Lucky One with my friend S, courtesy of Air Miles. I know I’ll never accumulate enough to get anything substantial, so I’d rather get little thing every now and then. After almost two years with my credit card I only had 450 air miles. Considering how much I used it, it’s not exactly impressive.

I got paid Friday, and will post my current numbers tonight when I get home. I paid extra on Credit Card #2 this pay, which I will explain. The budget has been shot to hell- I’ve been having too much fun the past couple of weekends, it seems. However, I’ve always had enough money in my account after payments to survive, so it’s possible that until my debt is paid down I might just go without a budget and transfer any money I know I’ll need into my savings the second I get paid. I have great intentions, but my schedule just doesn’t allow for the kind of planning I want to do. I’ll have to figure it out.

School is winding down finally- my last exam is on May 3rd. I start my next semester on the 7th. I’m taking Macroeconomics, Management Information Systems, and Operations Management. I know I should take a break and only take one class, but a) I don’t want to lose momentum and b) I’m pretty used to working this much by now. When I get too exhausted I just ignore the homework and crash for 12 hours, then I’m good for another couple weeks.

Anyways, what have you guys been up to lately?

6 responses to “My Life is Nuts

  1. How is the smoking going? Slowly kicking the habit?

    I am with you though, I do not think I will be able to post after my next post on Wednesday to almost the 12-13 of may. Work has been getting crazy and I am barely awake when I get home.

    In your personal opinion, is it really worth it to collect air miles? I know my parents have collected air miles for a long time and have only accumulated enough to take a $400 flight. To me that doesn’t seem worth the hassle of taking the card out every time. I don’t know, maybe I am just lazy.

    • The smoking is going better, I haven’t bought a pack since the 6th. Now I really only smoke at work, which is one every two hours, sometimes longer. Then when I’m at home, I don’t smoke. I’m working on cutting it back a lot more.

      I have an Air Miles credit card, and I’ve probably spent about $5000 in the past 2 years. I’ve only accumulated about 450. Before this year I would say to collect them and accumulate them, but as of January 2012 Air Miles have an expiry date of 5 years. I don’t think it’s now worth it to actively accumulate them, but you’d have to spend a LOT of money to get something good.

  2. Hey there! Just got back from Hawaii so I’ll have a blog about that. Sounds like you’ve been busy! How was that movie BTW? I’m a sucker for romantic movies. sigh…

  3. Haha. I just wrote about being goal-oriented and saving money—and then lamenting the fact that I need to buy a new couch. Ah money. Welcome back.

  4. Hey where have you been? Hope you’re doing well! It’s actually Tonya, but I wanted to let you know I created another blog just for PF, so I could be a little more open to discussion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

