Money woes, or why I’m thankful for my family


While deciding how much money I need when I move into the new place, I slightly miscalculated, and as a result I have no money to live off of for the next couple of weeks.

Here’s what happened: I knew that I needed $437.50 for first and last, and an extra $300 for furniture and miscellaneous expenses around the apartment, so I planned out my payments and savings accordingly. Well, instead of starting the lease on July 15th like we asked, we’re paying pro-rated rent from the 15th to the 31st, and then the lease starts August 1st. So I need close to $1000 instead of the $750 I originally planned for. I get paid tomorrow, and my money is ALL already gone- it’s all allocated towards payments and savings. Ugh!!! However, it’s okay. The sky will not fall. I’m taken care of.

Thank the lord I’m not paying rent (yet at least) or worrying about having enough to eat. My family does a lot for me and always has. I don’t buy groceries, my mom bought me Nicorette when I couldn’t afford it after I quit smoking (13 full days now, whooo), I have a roof over my head, a job, a car to get to school, and an internet connection. I’m so grateful for everything I’m given, and I hope that I’ve made them proud so far. If I had spent all of my money on stupid stuff, I’d be ashamed to ask for help; but as it is, they know how hard I’m working to get out on my own, they’re proud of what I’ve accomplished with my money (from the little bits I’ve told them, anyway), and I know they’ll help me if I need it. The only thing my mom will not do for me is pay my rent (nor should she).

Most of all, I’m extremely thankful that when I ask my grandfather to buy me some bread and lunch meat for lunch next week because I can’t afford it, he’ll do it without batting an eyelash.

With family like that, I can’t ask for much more.

Well. I want more money. But who doesn’t.

2 responses to “Money woes, or why I’m thankful for my family

  1. Aww that’s so nice of your family. And congrats on not smoking for 13 days!

  2. It’s nice that you take time to be grateful for you do have! Glad you have such a supportive family!

Leave a Reply

