Debt update for June 2012


I just got paid, and my money is already gone.

HOWEVER, that’s totally a good thing, because I currently owe under $1000!

+760.54  PAYCHEQUE

-435.40  CREDIT CARD 2 (PAID OFF!)

-56.57    TELUS

-24.95    CREDIT CARD 1 (MONTHLY BALANCE PAID IN FULL)

-90.34    (REPLENISHED OUR HOUSEHOLD FUND FOR PURCHASE)

-153.28 BALANCE TRANSFER CARD

My balance leftover on the low interest (1.99%) transfer card is $958.14. My debt on March 15th was $3415.97 split between two cards at 19.95% and 11.99% interest. That means I’ve paid off $2457.83 of credit card debt in 3 and a half months.

I AM SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW!!!

Now, paying that much to my debt left 0, zip, nada in my chequing account. But that’s okay. I’ve gotten pretty used to having no money whatsoever in preparation for this move. I’m also expecting to be paid back by my brother, who owes me $40, and I’m due for a Trillium Benefit/HST cheque from the government, which should be about $60. Both of those tiny windfalls will be deposited and immediately redirected to my debt. Every cent counts right now, because in July I’ll only be able to put about $437.50 towards debt, and in August that amount will have to be allocated to rent. In August, I’ll be lucky to put up $200 on debt. I’m still hoping to have all my debt paid off by the end of September, by whatever means possible (Cue me singing I Believe in Miracles).

This has been the best start to summer I’ve ever had. I’m really proud of myself for being so vigilant, and I’m looking forward to being able to tell all of you that I’m debt free!

This weekend I’m driving down to Niagara Falls with my mom, step-dad, brother and sister to see Death Cab for Cutie and The Tragically Hip tomorrow, which I’m so excited for! The Hip is Canadiana at its finest, and I grew up listening to them. Their songs remind me of a simpler time- it’s like listening to home. Don’t even get me started on Death Cab, either. I was obsessed with them in my senior year of high school. Hearing any song off Transatlanticism makes me feel like a teenager again.

On Sunday we’re going to do the Maid of the Mist boat ride under the falls, because none of us have ever done it before. You couldn’t pick a better weekend than Canada Day to be in the falls. Plus, my mom knows how hard I’m working to save for the move and become debt-free, so she offered to cover my weekend. That’s why I was able to pay so much down on debt this week. So, since I know she will read this as she found the blog earlier this week, thanks mom! I love you!

Just in case anyone is interested in hearing what I’ll be rocking out to tomorrow, here are my favourite songs from The Tragically Hip and Death Cab for Cutie.

Happy Canada Day, and to all my readers from elsewhere, have a great weekend!

6 responses to “Debt update for June 2012

  1. WOOHOO! And your weekend sounds like fun!

  2. Excellent job on your budget! Enjoy your trip to Niagara Falls. Happy Canada Day!!

  3. Wow! Now that is kicking butt!

    I love the falls! Have a great weekend!

  4. Congrats! This is the happiest you’ve sounded in awhile! Hope you had fun this weekend.

  5. Congrats on paying off that card! Have fun in the falls! Love visiting there.

Leave a Reply

